When art imitates work

One really great thing about being a graphic designer is that sometimes the work I do for clients inspires a new direction for my own art. Here’s a great example.

I created this brochure concept for the Twin Cities Women’s Choir to represent the diversity and vibrance of the choir, and to associate their organization with a place (the Twin Cities):

This inspired me to explore geometric landscapes in my own art, which I created to show at Art-A-Whirl:

The client ended up choosing the second concept, which featured some fabulous shots of the conductor and the choir in duotone photography, but in the end, nothing was wasted!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

